“I’m Gonna Set Your Flag on Fire”

In the fight for world domination, I would put money on my grandma.  She is a fireball.  She is everything I want to be when I grow up and as such I feel she is the perfect subject for the final picture in my 365 photo-a-day challenge.

On May 31st I got to have lunch with her, my aunt and my cousin.  I love my grandmother, she is a strong, independent and uniquely funny woman.

On the subject of grandmother’s, my other grandmother (not pictured above) refuses to believe that I supported myself during the two-and-a-half years that I worked as a producer/writer/actor.

She thinks my mom supported me the whole time.  Nothing could be further from the truth.
My other grandmother thinks that all a woman needs to do is, “Look pretty, find a man to marry and be set for life.”  These are the things she has told me as since I was a child.  Of course, this makes sense to her because this was her experience.

How little she knows about saving up for three and a half years, to pursue my dreams.  How little she knows about doing odd-jobs, not ever knowing when the next one will come, and having to worry about every single dollar.  Yet also, how little she knows of the thrill that comes with spending every day working towards an incredible goal.

I still feel that thrill when I work on set or on stage, or when another piece comes together furthering the completion of my latest short.  Someday I will be paid to create full-time, and until then I am enjoying the journey.

7 thoughts on ““I’m Gonna Set Your Flag on Fire”

  1. My grandmother, who never gives anyone a compliment, told me last year that she was proud of me. I was a teen mom and have managed a college degree and have a great job and take care of my daughter and myself quite well. She said I did it on my own (I did have family help to get here, though) and that she thought that was admirable.

    It was awesome to hear that from someone who used to question why anyone needed college and who thought an English degree was a waste of time.

    1. I’m glad to hear you got such a well-deserved compliment!

      I was raised by a single-mom so I have an idea of the work that goes into it – Wow, great job!

  2. Congrats on finishing the photo challenge and an even bigger congrats for all of your hard work and getting to live the life of your dreams. May all your creative endeavors be blessed with success!!!

  3. Nicely said! She is really proud of you, too! I don’t know how much she understands it all (probably a lot more than any would guess), but she knows you are following your own dreams and making your own way!

Leave a comment