7 Comments

The Walking Naked

Picture this: you walk into a room, it is large, stark and the overhead fluorescent lighting seems to bore into your skull.  Behind a large table sit two men and a women, staring at you.  One of them stands up to operate a camera.  You introduce yourself and begin to remove your clothing, piece by piece.  Half-way through one of the men begins playing on his cell phone, the other one yawns.  You do your best to ignore their blatant disregard for your feelings.

Once naked, you stand facing them and they scrutinize you for a few minutes.  Finally they say thank you and you get dressed as quickly as possible, while trying to remain composed, and leave the room.  Safely outside, you replay the entire series of events, picking apart every minute detail to see if you could have done better at any point in time, trying to get into their heads, to figure out what they thought of you and figure out what you can do better on next time.

As an actor – this is how going to an audition (for me) feels.  I do not literally get naked, but to be good at what I do I must regularly expose the parts of myself most people fight to keep hidden. 

Unfortunately auditioning is a HUGE part of having an acting career.  It is what we should be doing most of the time.  Apparently booking one out of every ten auditions is considered a successful career.  That means nine rejections for every job and that’s for the people who are doing well.   

And even getting an audition can be a hard and arduous process… and then there are people who audition well but don’t do great once they are on set, and visa-versa! 

It seems unfair but I also can’t think of a better process, so will have to endure the grind… except for those times when I’m offered a job because someone saw my previous work, or has worked with me before; which is ‘thankfully’ how I got most of my work in 2010 – here’s hoping 2011 is similar 😉

7 comments on “The Walking Naked

  1. Do remember not to take of your clothes – or perhaps that would be a good tactic?!
    Good luck for 2011.

  2. I hear your pain. At least as a writer, when i get rejections, it’s usually in writing in the privacy of my own home. Although I have made many cold calls in my day to production companies.

    I’ve been one of those on the other side of the table and am about to be again this weekend. Because I have so many actor friends, I try to be as pleasant and open as possible when auditioning them. There’s no reason an audition can’t be a great experience for all.

    And getting on your crackberry while someone is auditioning for you is outright LAME and disrespectful.

    • I’m so glad you’re of the belief that auditioning can be a great experience for all. I have also been on the other side of the table and my main aim is to ensure the person auditioning feels safe and comfortable.

      How did it go over the weekend?

Leave a Reply

