8 Comments

Sh*t My Dad Says

It feels good to be healthy and able to enjoy life/the weather again 🙂

Sh*t My Dad Says

My friend gave me the book over the weekend.  I thought it would be drivel.  Just a lame collection of the Tweets re: Sh*t his dad says.  I was wrong.

This is a fast-paced biography that gripped me from one line to the next.  It had me laughing, it had me close to tears.  It was great 🙂

My friends and I have a special e-mail list-serv and more than a few quotes from Justin Halpern have made the rounds.  I remember reading the tweets and thinking the dad, and phrases, were made up.

“Sh*t.  Anyone can do that,” I thought.

Well, after reading the book I fully believe that his father not only exists, but that he says the Sh*t his son says he says.  A word or two might be added/subtracted here and there, but the dad is real, and if he isn’t then I bow down to Justin for creating such an amazing character.

It made me think of my dad*.  It moved me to reflect on my life lessons and upbringing.
It also made me appreciate living in a time when someone can gain success through non-traditional means.  When we give chances to talent found from many different sources.

I am so glad to have read this book and I wish Justin nothing but success with his T.V. show.

Sh*t, I love my dad!

*a man who used to always write his e-mails to me in all caps, which made me think he was yelling – quite the leap from his quiet disposition in real life.  For example, from 2009:

HI HONEY,

I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A CHRISTMAS LIST FROM YOU.

CAN YOU HELP ME?

LOVE,

DAD

8 comments on “Sh*t My Dad Says

  1. That’s such a cute picture of you two 🙂

  2. Dad’s are the best! I’m gonna have to put this book on my list.

  3. WHERE DID YOU LEARN THAT FOUL WORD (SH*T)
    Your dad must have not taught you well.

Leave a Reply

