6 Comments

Confessions of an Emotional Picture-Giver

Don’t Hide

A little while ago Leslee wrote me an e-mail asking if she could use the banner picture at the top of my blog for a post she has on owningpink.  If you go to the website you will see it on the front page when her post is highlighted and then there is a photo credit at the end of the article.

That is so cool!!  (thank you for thinking of me Leslee) 🙂

Her article falls directly in line with how I feel re: expressing emotions.  I actually think the reason so many people love acting (and other art-forms) so much is because it is a way to ‘get it all out.’  Perhaps that is why many feel they need to be messed up to be a good artist.  It’s a lot easier to access those raw emotions when life is repeatedly hitting you in the gut and often we don’t want to go back there when everything is sunshine and lollipops.

I hope to lead a balanced, happy life and still give amazing performances that effect audiences the world over.

The Mastery

One workshop that has helped me in both my life and my art is called The Mastery of Self Expression.  If you only ever do one workshop, this is the one.

I believe the world would be a better place if we all had a safe haven in which to express our true selves/feelings.


6 comments on “Confessions of an Emotional Picture-Giver

  1. I always think I’d be a way more prolific writer if I could just develop a drinking problem. 🙂

    • Hahaha! You’re hilarious.

      Strindberg used absinthe. I’m just sayin’… 😛

      • Sadly (or maybe not sadly?), I just can’t seem to force myself to be an alcoholic. My body rejects it after one or two most of the time.

        Oh well. Maybe I’ll have to somehow develop a mental illness. That works, too. All the greats were substance abusers, mentally ill or both.

  2. In my writing group the author of our group tells the story of the time she watched this man give a talk about writing and he insisted that in order to be a great writer you must have had a tragic upbringing. It really through Adrian b/c she had a wonderfully normal upbringing but she is also a great writer.

    A good scream and cry do wonders for the soul every now and then though…

    • I’ve had acting teachers say that too.

      I’m very lucky to be surrounded by people who accept me for me, but even so I found that ‘The Mastery’ was one of the only times I felt safe enough to really let it all out.

    • ‘In my writing group the author of our group tells the story of the time she watched this man give a talk about writing and he insisted that in order to be a great writer you must have had a tragic upbringing.’

      It’s called FICTION. 🙂

Leave a Reply

