2 Comments

Another One Bites the Dust

Since coming to Vancouver three years ago I have had the pleasure of meeting some very amazing and talented people.

Because of the nature of the biz, and starting out in acting school (I highly recommend Schoolcreative btw) most of my Vancouver friends are actors.  Or… were actors.

I’m not sure one can ever fully leave this profession; that we will always be ‘actors’ in our hearts, and if the opportunity were to present itself 99% of us would jump on it; whether or not we have decided to focus on other things.
Yet, over these last few years I have watched person after person decide to give up acting as a career.

I have definite sadness around seeing my friends move on to other pursuits but sometimes I wonder – are they the smart ones?

How do you know when it’s time to give up the chase?  When is it right to throw in the towel? or ‘get the hint?’ this ain’t gonna happen for you!

Personally, I think it’s different for everyone.

“Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.”  Winston Churchill

“Success seems to be largely a matter of hanging on after others have let go.” William Feather

So, what’s the difference between obsession and success?

“I honestly feel that it is better to be a failure at something you love than a success at something you hate.” George Burns

“Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get.”  Dale Carnegie

It seems to me that success is what you make of it.  If you worked your butt off in acting school and decided to leave to become a librarian, but enjoy reading and disecting plays on your breaks – that is success.
If success is constantly pursuing ‘the dream’ giving up everything else in your life for one myopic goal because at the end of the day there is no doubt that you’ve given it your all – then enjoy!

Success for me is about balance.

God, grant me the serenity:
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

2 comments on “Another One Bites the Dust

  1. I think this is something all of us who have career aspirations in the arts have to think about. It’s probably easier for writers and painters since we can do those things full time while also holding a full time day job.

    • Yes, a friend of mine and I always lament the fact that agents get mad if you’re not available to audition, but they only give about 24-48 hours notice and it’s completely random as to when you might be needed.

Leave a Reply

