4 Comments

I Look Just Like Buddy Holly

I now have a better idea of what Wheezer was singing about.

Last night Tash took me to Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story, at the Arts Club Theatre.  I am very lucky to have a friend who works at the theatre (and takes me to shows) because otherwise tickets cost a pretty penny.

I find that there are a few different ways to attend theatre:

1) You can tear it down.  From the writing, to the acting, to the music and costumes, there is always a place for subjectively disliking something.  Even if it’s just one little thing, it can be focused on and ruin the show, if you let it.

2) Fall into the story.  This is what I always hope will happen, isn’t that why everyone goes?   Back in January Tash took me to see Nevermore and that production definitely sucked me in.  From the moment the curtain lifted I was transported to another world.

3) Or, enjoy it but not be too invested either way.  As an artist I would rather people have an adverse reaction than none at all.  Isn’t the purpose of art to create change?  Whether its internal, external, personal or global.

Unfortunately Buddy failed to transport me to another time or another place.  I think it was due to feeling like I was more at a tribute concert than getting a true glimpse into his life.  I wanted more story and less singing.  That being said the people on stage were incredibly talented.

The Good

Zachary Stevenson, of course, was brilliant as Buddy but another person I need to mention is the enchanting Elena Juatco.  Whenever Elena was on stage my eyes were drawn to her.  She throws herself into whatever she is doing 100%.

According to her website
Elena is nominated for her first Jessie Richardson Award for “Oustanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, Large Theatre” for her performance as Christine Colgate in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. The 28th Annual Jessie Richardson Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, June 21st at the Commodore Ballroom. www.jessies.ca

Good luck Elena!

The Bad

The wigs.  Dearest Gods of the Arts Club PLEASE BUY BETTER WIGS!!  I have seen more than a few shows now, from all angles, and no matter how far away I am, I can tell the wigs are cheap and terrible.  Your performers deserve better.

Also, accents!  When you have a performer who is obviously struggling with an accent, bring in a coach.  Nothing takes me out of a story more than when the accent is bad.  I flinch while watching.  I know how hard dialects can be, so help the person get beyond it so it doesn’t detract from the performance and story.  It’s not fair to them and takes away from the entire production.

The Summary

Buddy is a GREAT show!  It will have you bopping along no matter what your age and again I cannot stress how talented the performers are.  There was one moment when Buddy was alone on stage, a single spotlight on him and his guitar, and I had tears brimming.  This show is a shining tribute to a talented artist who made his mark with what little time he was given.

4 comments on “I Look Just Like Buddy Holly

  1. Man, oh man, he made some great music. The world lost a treasure (a few of them!) in that plane crash.

    Glad you enjoyed the show!

    • Have you ever seen it before? And if so, what did you think?

      I agree, what a terrible plane-crash, but I also had the thought that sometimes artists seem to know their fate, like they are working so hard and pumping out so much energy because they know they are not long for this world and therefore have to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

