5 Comments

The Pursuit of Happyness

Friday night I had an industry party to go to.  Unfortunately, after biking the 20km home from work, I sat on the couch, and then I lay on the couch, and then I didn’t move from the couch until bedtime.*
Considering how much effort these networking events are and the state I was in, I’m glad I listened to my body and didn’t push myself any further.  The problem is, if I’m working full-time so I can pursue my dreams,  yet work drains me so much that I can’t pursue my dreams, well then we have a problem.

But, I did make it out to many other events during the week, including the Women in Film mixer.  So that’s a plus-plus 🙂

Also, on Friday I did what every artist needs to do.  I inspired myself.

There are times when the ability to create is just not in there and filling the tank is necessary.  It is at these times when I turn to the help of music, writing, people, nature, films, anything that enlightens me or takes me away from myself or offers new insight; you get the idea.  On Friday we watched a movie, and it was a good one.

The Pursuit of Happyness is so aptly named.  It is what we all go through, and even when we achieve it, happiness, like all emotions, is fleeting.  I highly recommend this film for it’s great writing, cinematography and acting.  The last few moments were so well done- I’m going to stop myself there because I don’t want to oversell it or ruin anything so needless to say I will watch this movie again, and again, and again (but don’t expect too much, it’s just a movie after-all).


*or when I had to use the washroom


5 comments on “The Pursuit of Happyness

  1. I had read interviews with the guy this movie is based on and I KNEW the ending before I saw it. And I was still biting my nails and freaking out wondering if he got the job.

    THAT is a well-done film!

    • So often films miss the mark but with this one I felt truth.

      I would be interested in seeing those interviews, I’ll have to do some research when I get home 🙂

      • There was a Reader’s Digest article around when the movie came out. I can’t remember specifically where and when else I read about him or heard him, but I do remember that.

  2. That movie made Will cry mega hard-core style.

Leave a Reply

